Let the bells ring

February 26, 2009

As I noted earlier this week, no entity has been more instrumental in smearing Ward Churchill than the Rocky Mountain News. They’ve used bloggers as genealogical experts to “prove” he’s not an Indian, quoted rapists and murderers as to his character, and printed every outright lie which they could find any nut or drug addict to regurgitate.  

It is my pleasure to report that tomorrow’s edition will be their last.

I’ll update more later, but for now I’m gonna go have a very cold beer and spend an hour or two just grinning like an idiot.

3 Responses to “Let the bells ring”

  1. Tyndale Says:

    Wow. I’ve been hating the Rocky for fifteen years that I can remember. With what will I fill this void? I guess it remains to be seen who will buy it and what they will do with the staff.

  2. Ben Says:

    Shit. It’s already been announced that Vincent Carroll will be joining the editorial staff of the Post. Only as a columnist, though, the way I’m reading the Poynter report: http://tinyurl.com/d999xk

  3. steve morris Says:

    Normally I would bemoan the closing of a major newspaper except those owned by Rupert Murdoch, but in this case I will rejoice. The hatchet job
    RMN has done on Prof. Churchill is not responsible newspaper practice. RMN reaps what it sows.


Leave a Reply

